The Good Girl, Mary Kubica; A Review

The Good Girl, by Mary Kubica, was a fast-paced, thriller novel that I was recommended to read. Since it was spring break, I had the time of day to sit down and actually get into it (without worrying about school assignments, upcoming tests, or being so tired I fall asleep reading). This was a great, quick read that tempts me to read more of Kubica in the very near future.

51P3outSH8L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This story is about a girl named Mia Dennett, who is an inner-city art teacher in Chicago, Illinois. She has drifted away from her family’s formal values and reputation–going against her strict, opinionated fathers lifestyle of being a judge and her mothers subordinate, smothering care. When she isn’t teaching, she spends her nights with her boyfriends (if he can ever get off work), waiting around for him at local bars. Little does she know, when he isn’t able to show one night, another very interested man is. This leads her onto the biggest mistake of her life and her own abduction. Colin Thatcher, a low-life desperate for money, impulsively decides to keep Mia for his own, not handing her off to his secret superiors. And the rest is up to you to find out.

I’ve always had an interest in Stockholm Syndrome, when victims become emotionally attached to their captors, so having an interest in the plot of the story was easy.

Threats?  

Isolation? 

Inability to escape? 

Humanity in the most minimal sense? 

Check, check, check, check.

The Good Girl was a simple read, with chapters every few pages, switching narrations, and multiple versatile characters. I was intrigued to read from the view of Colin, our captor, and understand why and how exactly his mind works. To know how he feels when he sees Mia, to know what he makes of the entire situation, and to know what he is thinking is a crucial piece of the story. Then to hear from Mia’s mother, the detective on the case, and eventually Mia herself, the story proceeds to unravel switching time periods before and after the abduction. Its an easy novel to finish in just a few sittings or just a few hours if you have the time.

For me, having the story take place in Chicago, makes it that much more special. When certain places are described, mentioned, or talked about, its easy for me to picture them from memory. I loved being able to relate to this story in more than finding pieces of myself in the main character herself.

Kubica writes a great mystery–one I never even saw coming. The last ten pages were the most riveting of the entire book and threw me for a loop. I usually think that I am pretty good at predicting the ending, but not with this one. A recommendation from my mom, who was recommended this book by my sister-in-law, we discussed the ending for quite some time. Kubica is able to keep the book exciting, moving, and realistic, all the while leading you onto an idea the opposite of what is really happening. I find her writing style like many others–James Patterson, Nicholas Sparks, those who write quick, easy chapters with killer plots (so maybe not Nicholas Sparks on the killer plots). I can’t wait to pick up another one of her works.

I would rate The Good Girl a 4 out of 5 stars, for the amazing ending, the fast pace, and diversity in characters. Kubica did a great job and having never read her before, was a pleasant surprise! She kept the story realistic with such an intense plot and thats something I find a lot of writers struggle with. The Good Girl was a good book by my standards.

Here’s to hoping I can find more time to read the rest of this semester! (;

 

One thought on “The Good Girl, Mary Kubica; A Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

