Horsetooth Falls, Fort Collins, CO

May 3, 2016

13151952_1569932813299970_1587167172788333972_n

I’ve already covered the trail to Horsetooth Falls in a previous blog post,  but this time I went in May instead of August! The hike was much faster and much simpler than I remember, but definitely worth it.

There were still the open switchbacks to start for about twenty minutes and then moving into the forest. There were amazing waterfalls (besides Horsetooth) that gave opportune photo spots. At this time in May, where it had previously snowed a week or two before, the water was rushing and filled out many canyons. This was a much better time to go than any other season, as I had seen pictures of hikes from March with only trickling water.

13174012_1569932933299958_415150337640428165_n

The falls took less than an hour to get to, offered various routes, and some great climbing activity when jumping around little rivers and large rocks. There are plenty of people on the trail and dogs as well, all of which loved the water.

I was able to wear shorts, running shoes, and a tank top, and I brought a sweatshirt and flip-flops in my bag. Once we made it to Horsetooth Falls, there was a beautiful pool at the end of the waterfall. It was freezing no doubt, but I went in for a little while (with flip flops on so I didn’t cut my feet on the rough pool ground) and got some amazing pictures. Dogs were swimming, kids were playing, and the sun was shining. I couldn’t have asked for a better day.

Heading back was even faster, but overall the hike was brilliant. We even went above the falls for a few good photo opportunities, but being underneath this time of year was surely better. I can’t wait to go back again, hopefully after summer break. It was a much better option than studying for finals, this is something I will remember forever.

For now, happy hiking and happy summer! (:

13174147_1569932883299963_4364799975191002607_n

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

